Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Review: The Perfect Prince by Michelle M Pillow

eBook, 220 pages
Published August 28th 2010 by The Raven Books (first published July 31st 2004)
ISBN 13: 9781452450209
Source: Publisher, for the purpose of an honest review
Genre: Sci Fi/Fantasy Romance
Best read in order: yes
Stars: 4
Flames: 3

The Perfect Prince is the second installment of The Dragon Lords series by Pillow featuring Nadja Aleksander and Olek of Draig.  Nadja is a reserved young woman on the run from her controlling father.  She takes the first available ship to escape him and ends up with the Galaxy Brides, a corporation that provides brides to other planets.  When the ship arrives at the planet Qurilixen, Nadja goes through the selection process and finds herself married to Olek, one of the four princes of Draig. Olek is the ambassador of the family who spends his time pouring over treaties and import/export documents.  He is thrilled when his crystal chooses him a bride and sets about seducing her from the first night.

I really enjoyed reading Nadja and Olek’s interaction. She is so shy of his affection and unsure of how to act towards him. While Olek knows that he wants to be with Nadja, he just has to convince her that they make a good team.  I found the delving into herbalism with Nadja very interesting, where she used her medical knowledge to help the Draig society using the plants and fauna of their planet. 

In this book we get more of a view of the life in the palace and village than in the previous book and I found it very intriguing. I liked reading about how the planet looked as well as getting to know the other princess’ better.

There is also quite a bit of sexual tension between Nadja and Olek.  Nadja keeps fighting what is growing between them and Olek is nurturing it.  Although I will say that sometimes it seemed like both character’s had multiple personalities (or at the very least instant mood swings).  Where one minute they would feel a certain way towards the other and be determined to follow that path and then the next second they were do a complete 180 and do something out of left field. But overall I liked how the author used the tension to slowly bring the characters around to where they finally confronted their feelings for one another.

This series is best read in order because (so far) all the books begin in approximately the same spot, the Breeding festival where the men choose their brides. After that there are a few scenes with all of the characters and each book opens up little pieces that you didn’t see in the previous book or shows them from a different perspective.  I am very excited to continue this series and find out how the other brothers fair in their claiming.

1 comment:

  1. Awesome! I have a friend that I think would love these :)